Meandering Thoughts During a Good Friday Service

Unending sources
Mysteries overwhelming
The  particulars perhaps do not matter
so much.

Who knows me? God knows me. And I
am loved. I know not why.

23 souls in a room gathered together.
Why?

Jesus as political figure.

Intimate and close-knit doesn’t have
to be insular.

Radical love, relational ups and downs,
peace and justice actions, self-knowing,
so little are these encouraged or facilitated
in church services.

“God is with us in the abandonment
of that cross,” the speaker said.

But are we with God?

Truly?

Do not be quick to answer.

Be willing to examine your life.

We use such words.
We’re quick to judge and think
poorly of others; only to smile
to their faces and laugh with
them.

2 responses to “Meandering Thoughts During a Good Friday Service

  1. “Radical love, relational ups and downs,
    peace and justice actions, self-knowing,
    so little are these encouraged or facilitated
    in church services.”

    I guess I’m quick to reply, having only read this moments ago… but only because I’ve thought a lot about this same thing myself, and have often wondered why these things are not given huge focus often during church? Isn’t peace and justice and radical love what Jesus was all about? (forgive me for not including the phrase ‘relational ups and downs’ the only reason I haven’t is because I don’t really understand the term, so I don’t feel adequate speaking to it either way.)

    “But are we with God?” Such an important question for us all to be thinking of.

    Very thought provoking, as always.

    • Hmm, trying to remember what I was thinking about when I wrote that part about relational ups and downs. I think I was thinking about how often relationships aren’t focused on. How often we don’t really know each other or respect each other. Even within families and within congregations. And for what little it’s talked about, we could certainly do a lot better at putting it into practice. (I’m including myself here). Sometimes more care needs to be taken , more understanding, when supporting people going through divorce, for example. Does that make more sense?

Leave a Reply

